Students First Join Now and Make a difference
Join Now
Home Home
About Us About Us
News News
Join Us Join Us
Action Center Action Center
Resource Center Resource Center
Links Links
  • Assessment
  • Back to School!
  • Conservation
  • Curriculum
  • District growth
  • Drugs/alcohol
  • Early childhood
  • EFAB
  • FY08 State Budget
  • Grants
  • Health & Nutrition
  • Home schooling
  • ISBE
  • Legislation
  • Litigation
  • Math & Science
  • Meeks/Gidwitz Plan
  • NCLB
  • Other states
  • Personnel issues
  • Private Education
  • School boards
  • School finance
  • School funding
  • School referenda
  • Special education
  • Student violence
  • Unions

    News > In the Headlines

    National Merit Scholarships


    Chicago Sun-Times

    Here are the names of area high school seniors who have won college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships announced Monday by the National Merit Scholarship Corp. This is the last group of Merit Scholar designees to be announced in 2007. College-sponsored awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

    Arlington Heights: Elizabeth Kuznetsov, Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy

    Arlington Heights: Samantha Zenlea, Cypress Bay High, Fla.

    Batavia: Lisa Thompson, Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy

    Buffalo Grove: Daniel Dolnik, Johnathan Stein, Stevenson High

    Chicago: Peter Bush, Sally Cochrane, University of Chicago High; Kathryn Evans, Alexander Ignatov, Nina Leung, Varun Yeldandi, Lincoln Park High; James Floyd, Latin High; Patrick Frenzer, Claire Robinson, Whitney Young High; Kathryn Reilly, Daniel Soso, Marist High

    Clarendon Hills: John Bryant, Tyler Wright, Hinsdale Central High

    Darien: Caroline Cvetkovic, Hinsdale Central High; Alexander Wright, Hinsdale South High

    Deer Park: Christine Evans, Lake Zurich High

    Downers Grove: Sara Glas, Downers Grove South High; Kevin Kleczka, Downers Grove North High

    Elk Grove: Michael Deck, Elk Grove High

    Evanston: William Niemira, Evanston High

    Geneva: Sean McClellan, Geneva High

    Glendale Heights: Wajeeh Bakhsh, Glenbard West High

    Glen Ellyn: Erick Porzelt, Glenbard West High; Omar Shaik, College Preparatory School of America

    Harwood Heights: Caroline Tomas, Maine South High

    Highland Park: Alana Goodman, Highland Park High; Rebecca Hofstein, North Shore Country Day High

    Hinsdale: Robert Silk, Kathleen Wood, Hinsdale Central High

    Hoffman Estates: Hyo Yang, Conant High

    La Grange: Joseph Dylik, Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy

    Lemont: Natalia Kecala, Fenwick High

    Libertyville: Jackson Lai, Libertyville High

    Lisle: Kevin Chuang, Naperville North High

    Long Grove: Michael Carson, John Stevens, Stevenson High

    Mokena: Michael Halyko, Lincoln-Way East High

    Mount Prospect: Jeffery Fries, Hersey High

    Mount Zion: Michael Hughes, Southwestern High, IN

    Naperville: Elise Crawley, Amanda Lo, Neuqua Valley High; Earl Delfin, Benet Academy; Sarah Fern, Naperville Central High; Stuart Fuess, Waubonsie Valley High; Daniel Kramer, Naperville North High; Elisabeth Lawrence, Naperville Central High; Sean Mirski, Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy; Timothy Murphy, Naperville Central High; Michael Nasti, Naperville North High; Lauren Puetz, Benet Academy; Neehar Raj, Johnny Sun, Naperville Central High; Benjamin Rodrigues, Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy

    New Lenox: Philip Hornstein, Lincoln-Way Central High

    Northbrook: Samantha Turner, Glenbrook North High

    Oak Park: Todd Anderson, Lucy Conley-Smoucha, Michael Hirsch, Brynne O'Neal, Benjamin Taylor, Oak Park and River Forest High; Kathryn Schoedel, Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy

    Orland Park: Lauren Sirota, Lucas Tian, Amy Vogelsang, Sandburg High

    Park Ridge: James Jaffe, Maine South High

    Peotone: Edmund March, Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy

    Plainfield: Joel Dierbeck, Benet Academy

    River Forest: Aaron Baskin, John Binder, Julia Locascio, Ryan Matos, Michael Murray, Oak Park and River Forest High

    Riverwoods: Joseph Hsu, Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy; Anne Kainic, Deerfield High

    St. Charles: Alison Conn, St. Charles North High

    Schaumburg: Ahjaaz Alibhai, Johnathan Chu, Conant High; Mino Takako, Schaumburg High

    Skokie: Nathan Hakimi, Niles North High; Dennis Hu, Niles West High; Leeyat Slyper, Ida Crown Jewish Academy

    Vernon Hills: Alanna Byrne, Mundelein High

    Western Springs: William Curto, Elizabeth Schiffman, Matthew Stork, Lyons High

    Westmont: William Sun, Hinsdale Central High

    Wheaton: Janelle Brinly, Wheaton North High; Jonathon Burns, Joseph Deutsch, Meagan Schallcross, Wheaton-Warrenville South High

    Wheeling: Geoffrey Levin, Chicagoland Jewish High

    Wilmette: Meara Charnetzki, Kimberly Helseth, Grace Jeffers, Michael Rothman, New Trier High

    Winfield: Max Knierim, Benet Academy

    Dyer: Claire Trincot, Lake Central High

    Whiting: Annie Labus, St. Ignatius College Preparatory

    E-mail this article to a friend | Printer friendly format

    Students First Illinois | Ronald J. Gidwitz | 200 South Wacker Drive, Suite 4000 | Chicago, IL 60606 | email | (312) 943-1955 p (312) 943-8397 f

    2006 Students First. All Rights Reserved